Irie Momma

Paper Doll Dress

Posted on: October 13, 2009

dress2

I made this adorable dress for Lily from Lil Blue Boo’s Paper Doll Dress Pattern.  As soon as she posted the pattern I just knew I HAD TO HAVE IT! It is  fall in Colorado and warmer dresses are a must. The girl can only wear so much corduroy so it is great to have something a little different. The dress looks great with tights and a long sleeved onesie, but would look just as cute with bare legs and a short sleeved shirt.

The dress was super easy to make and I can’t say enough good things about this pattern. It was simple to follow with excellent color pictures and descriptive instructions. There are a lot of ideas to customize the dress too, which is great. I chose to do the baggy pockets and extended the shoulder straps so they would hang down a little longer in the front. Everything about this dress screams “Lily”!!

Isn’t it cute how the straps cross in the back?

back

Lily wore this dress on Sunday when we still had company in and out of the house for her birthday. Everyone was shocked that I had made this dress because it looks so professional. Remember, I’ve only been sewing for a couple months, so if I can pull off a dress that looks this good I’m pretty sure anybody can!!! I will be using this pattern again and again.

 Now I’m looking for a cute, long sleeved dress pattern for an infant. Lily is wearing 6-12 month clothes still and it seems most of the patterns for long sleeved dresses are for toddlers. Yes, I could modify a bigger pattern for her, but I’d rather not! I found this adorable fabric on Etsy and really want to make a cute, long sleeved cotton dress. Any ideas???

Leave a Reply

