Irie Momma

I might be terrible, but at least I’m having a good time!

Posted on: August 22, 2009

My sewing class was great on Tuesday and I can’t wait for next Tuesday…when I’ll make an apron! I don’t have a sewing machine yet so I’ve been checking out stores and testing out different models. The one I really want is a Baby Lock Grace but since I don’t have an extra $450 lying around I’m searching for old, used machines on Ebay and Craigslist. So far I haven’t had any luck, but I have a super nice co-worker who was kind enough to let me borrow two of her old machines.

spartansinger

 

As you can see, I wasn’t exaggerating when I said they are old!  After playing around with both I think I actually prefer the really old one. It just seems more predictable. So I’ve been playing around and attempted the owl applique I discussed here. (Thanks to Lil Blue Boo for sharing this on her site. I love it!)

Yeah, I suck. I broke a needle, stabbed my finger, and have some really terrible stitching on the owl. BUT I FINISHED! And Lily could care less that my stitching is awful. I am beaming with pride!

owl

Leave a Reply

